Hotels to remember: Scuola Grande di San rocco
Scuola Grande di San rocco: introduction
The Scuola Grande di San Rocco was inaugurated in 1478, when the Republic of the Serenissima, by means of the "Consiglio dei Dieci", delegated with the powers to recognise and regularise the confraternities of the city of Venice, consented its institution in the city.
The Scuola Grande di San Rocco did not immediately obtain a permanent seat, but was moved from the Church of San Giuliano to the Church of San Silvestro, until its definitive position was established in a zone near to the Church of the Frati Minori (Frari). All the artworks which can be found inside the Scuola Grande di San Rocco, bear the name of Tintoretto, who completed many of his finest masterpieces here, giving life to a series of paintings which earned the artist the status of one of the greatest artists of Venice and the entire World.